Month: December 2008

  • Weather Update

    It snowed so much in Portland, OR, that I was able to work from home almost everyday last week. 

    We were able to visit Jerome and Cheryl on Christmas day for their brunch.  We had a wonderful time with them and their friends.

    Today, all the snow that had kept us home bound melted and we took the chains off of the car.

    After playing D&D, before we went back home, we went to see the Xmas lights at Peacock Lane.  They were very whimsical and pretty.

  • News Update

    There has been a lot of humor on TV about the Iraqi reporter who threw a shoe at our president.

    Well, I am not laughing now.

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/middle_east/7791965.stm

  • Update Update

    We got back to Portland Tuesday of last week.

    Haven’t posted here since I have been spending more and more time on “Facebook.”  Frankly, the killer app on FB for me has been the D&D mini adventures.  It’s like a role playing game you can set on auto pilot or you can be very OCD about.  After your character reaches level 11, it is retired and you can build a new one.  I am on my “3rd generation” character, a “dragonborn fighter” named “Miseenplace.” 

    The other sort of fun app is Vampire Wars but now they closed a loophole that many people had expoited with a hack, it is not as interesting as it once way.  Basically, to get more powerful you have to create a clan of other vampires which are played by other people.  Stricly speaking you are only supposed to be able to forward an invite to people who have agreed to be your friends on FB, but the game never checked that a person was a friend or not before adding a person to your clan. Well, who wants to add a bunch of people they have never met in the flesh as “friends?”  That’s like handing your business cards out to everyone you ride the bus with.  No thank you. 

    And one of the more recent fun things is that a number of friends from high school reached out to me and now I can “enjoy” pictures of me in different high school productions.  Much more effective than using classmates.com to reach old classmates, if that’s what you want to do.

    In other news, we harvested the kiwifruit.  No so much because they were ripe but because they will freeze on the vine this weekend if we do.  Chuk got about a hundred or so off of the trees.  If we can successfully ripen a couple in a bag with a banana, then I will be ecstatic because then I definitely give some as gifts to the neighbors and friends.

    As for Xmas, I put up lights on the front porch and put it on a timer so they are on in the evening and for a short while in the morning before I go to work.  We also put up a real wreath and a garland.  If I can find the ground stakes, then I might consider putting the inflatable snowman.  No plans to buy a real tree or cut my own this year.  Just set up the fiber optic small tree in the living room and decorate the front of the house.